The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies SE CD front cover

Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, The - Special Edition - 2014

Water Tower Music (WTM39601) - 108 min.
UPC # 794043180637

Composed and Produced by Howard Shore (except for 'The Last Goodbye', sung by Billy Boyd, written by Billy Boyd, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens with orchestration by Victoria Kelly). Orchestrations by Conrad Pope, James Sizemore. New Zealand Symphony Orchestra recorded in Wellington Town Hall and conducted by Conrad Pope. London Voices Choir recorded at Abbey Road Studios, with Choir Masters: Terry Edwards, Ben Parry. Choral text by Philippa Boyes with Choral Text translations by David Salo. Liner Notes by Doug Adams. Album Mastered by Simon Gibson and edited by James Sizemore. Score recorded by Simon Rhodes, Peter Cobbin, Sam Okell and music recorded by Peter Cobbin.


Dealoz list of US, UK and Canadian sources from which to purchase, selling for $20-25us.

Amazon UK is offering it for about 13#.

It is also available for purchase at iTunes as a download for about 12eur.

Featuring Original Music by Academy Award Winner Howard Shore, with an original song 'The Last Goodbye' Performed by Billy Boyd. this Special Edition features four extended tracks, a bonus track, expanded liner notes and interactive sheet music packaged in a hardcover leatherette DigiBook with two disc pockets and a stapled-to-spine 28 page booklet. The booklet contains images from the film in addition to the usual credit listings. It also has a 10 page music analysis of the score by musicologist Doug Adams (See 'The Music of The Lord of the Rings Films'). It was released in two configuations: a standard 2 CD set and a Special Edition 2 CD set.

WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog - Click to find the nearest Library that has this title.


SoundWorks Collection - The Sound of the Hobbit [11:15 HD video]

Doug Adams' Lord of the Rings Music Website, with Hobbit Info and Videos

Amazon customer reviews

Film Soundtrack Center Review

Review at

Movie Music UK Review by Jonathan Broxton

Howard Shore's Official Website

Information at Soundtrack Collector Website

Streaming Soundtracks playlist ratings and requests



01. Fire and Water 5:58
02. Shores of the Long Lake 4:01
03. Beyond Shorrow and Grief 4:12
04. Guardians of the Three 5:48
05. The Ruins of Dale 3:39
06. The gathering of the Clouds 5:52
07. Mithril 3:08
08. Bred for War 3:20
09. A Thief in the Night 4:14
10. The Clouds Burst 4:13
11. Battle for the Mountain 4:40


01. The Darkest Hour 5:34
02. Sons of Durin 4:24
03. The Fallen 4:56
04. Ravenhill 5:48
05. To the Death 7:22
06. Courage and Wisdom 5:10
07. The Return Journey 4:18
08. There and Back Again 4:20
09. The Last Goodbye 4:07
10. Ironfoot 6:11
11. Dragon-sickness 3:52
12. Thrain from The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Extended Edition 3:27

NZVideos Logo

Comments, suggestions or questions are welcomed at, but delete the nospam portion before sending